Skip to main content

Ocean Springs School District Home of the Greyhounds

OSSD Budget Process

In an effort to be transparent as possible about finances, OSSD has designed a budget process that involves many of its stakeholders.  We consider all requests from every school and department and are very intentional about prioritizing our funding around the needs of our students.  There are many steps taken within our budgeting process to ensure this.  2020-21 Budget Process Memo

 
 
FY 21 Budget Priorities Established by the Budget Committee

*Limit the use of fund balance as we plan and prepare for future district growth
*Increase certified staff local supplement
*Plan and prepare for future district growth
*Create multi-year investment plans for technology, operations and staffing
*Measure the rate of return both on academic and operational investments
 
Zero-Based Budgeting Implementation for FY21
FY21 will be the first year that OSSD uses zero-based budgeting.  This process starts from a "zero base" and every function within our district will be analyzed for its needs and costs.
 
**Please refer to this page for updates as our budget committee meets and makes decisions regarding the FY21 budget.
2020-21 Budget Process Memo
Greyhound
 
 
 
FY20 Budget Priorities
 
 *Minimize Fund Balance Usage
 *Develop a budget that aligns with actual expenditures and revenues
 *Ensure programs and departments are staffed and funded appropriately
 
FY 20 Major Projects
Addition of 6 teaching position Addition of 1 curriculum coordinator
Addition of 1 full-time nurse GPS Software for buses
Chromebooks for HS, CTE, and MS New band equipment for HS and MS
Textbooks for UE, MS and HS Technology Infrastructure Upgrade
HVAC project for MPE and MS Bus Lease Purchase (10 buses)
Monitored security systems on all buildings New Roof for UE gymnasium
Interactive devices and whiteboards Supplements for IDEA high needs teachers
 
 
Budget Components
 
 
OSSD FY20 BUDGET
Budget FY20
 
 OSSD 5 YEAR BUDGET HISTORY  
OSSD 5 YR Budget History
 
 
 
Budget Committee Members
Bonita Coleman superintendent@ossdms.org Mary Gill mgill@ossdms.org
Christopher Williams cjwilliams@ossdms.org Gayle Schultz gschultz@ossdms.org
Mark Hubbard mhubbard@ossdms.org Catherine Melchi cmelchi@ossdms.org
Chris Lebatard clebatard@ossdms.org Wade Vick wvick@ossdms.org
Joe Cloyd jcloyd@ossdms.org Brad Patano bpatano@ossdms.org
 
 
First informational recording about our budget process that features Mary Gill, CFO and Dr. Bonita Coleman, Superintendent  of OSSD with a brief overview.